About the Board of Aldermen

The lawmaking body of the City of St. Louis is the Board of Aldermen. There are twenty-eight aldermen, one from each ward in the City, as well as a President of the Board.

Aldermen create, pass and amend local laws in addition to approving the City’s annual budget. They also provide the residents and businesses that reside in each ward with a participatory voice in City government. City residents rely on their alderman as a first point of contact for issues that affect their neighborhoods or their reliance on City service providers.